Skip to main content

Cardiff ConnectNewsOur Alumni

Cardiff community receives royal recognition

24 January 2019

Eleven Cardiff graduates representing a diverse range of fields have been listed in the 2019 Queen’s New Year’s Honours list.

  • NHS Wales chief executive Dr Andrew Goodall (PhD 1997) has been awarded a CBE for services to health, social care and public service in Wales
  • Having led Team Wales to their best ever Commonwealth Games medal haul in her role as Chef de Mission at Gold Coast 2018, Cardiff academic Professor Nichola Phillips (PhD 2015) becomes an OBE for services to physiotherapy
  • WorldSkills UK chief executive officer Dr Neil Bentley-Gockmann (BScEcon 1982, PhD 1999) receives an OBE for services to equality in business
  • Civil Aviation Authority communications director Richard Stephenson (PgDip 1998) is awarded an OBE for services to public and charitable service
  • University of Southampton academic Professor David Martin (PhD 1989) receives an OBE for services to Geography and Population studies
  • Head of Special Crime and Counter Terrorism for the Crown Prosecution Service Susan Hemming (LLB 1986) receives an OBE for services to law and order
  • Co-director of Cardiff’s Wales Optometry Postgraduate Education Centre (WOPEC) – the first centre of its kind globally – Professor Barbara Ryan (PhD 2009) has been awarded an MBE for services to optometry
  • Former Team GB Paralympian Caroline Matthews (LLB Law 1997, PGDip 1998) becomes an MBE for services to wheelchair basketball
  • Senior nurse at Aneurin Bevan Local Health Board Gail Powell (DIP1) receives an MBE for services to health visiting
  • Equality manager at Velindre NHS Trust Ceri Harris (MSc 2008) has been awarded an Order of the British Empire Medal for charitable and volunteering services in south Wales
  • Musician and coach Jeffrey Howard (BMus 1990) is also in receipt of an Order of the British Empire Medal for services to music

Congratulations from Cardiff to those recognised, each of whom will formally receive their honour at an Investiture ceremony at Buckingham Palace later in the year.