Ogden Trust, Physics, Schools, Secondary

Young physicists recognised for achievement

© Matt Horwood

The School of Physics and Astronomy hosted the Ogden Trust School Physicist of the Year event on Wednesday 18th July to celebrate young regional physicists. The School Physicist of the Year (SPotY) programme recognises outstanding efforts and achievements of secondary school students in physics.

Seven physics students from local schools were awarded prizes at the ceremony. They were nominated by their schools for their enthusiasm for physics and astronomy plus their understanding and interest in the subject.

The seven students receiving awards were Isabel Wilde and Mason Evans from Croesyceiliog School, Connie Chapman and Larisa Bones from Howells School, Izzy Khan from St Bernadette Catholic Secondary School, Ashlin Blackburn from Stanwell School and Finlay Browne from Bristol Grammar School.

The evening event was held at Cardiff University and involved a celebratory reception and inspiring talks from Cardiff physicists for the prize winners and their guests. The winning students received certificates and book tokens and were invited to join the Ogden Alumni Association.

Dr Chris North, Ogden Science Lecturer at the School of Physics and Astronomy, said: “It is a pleasure to see young physicists like these recognised for their outstanding achievement in physics and their enthusiasm for the subject. The aim of the Ogden Trust awards is to encourage and support them to become the new physicists of the future.”

These awards are open to students in Year 7 and Year 10, however some regions also offer awards to students in other school years.