Skip to main content


Welsh Trainees demonstrate their quality at Society of Anaesthetists of Wales

17 March 2014

Dr Sue Catling from Swansea, President of Society of Anaesthetists of Wales, presided over a very successful Brecon Spring meeting on 14th March 2014.  The afternoon heard a brilliantly explained update of anaphylaxis from UK expert Dr Nigel Harper, our keynote speaker.  There were also two great presentations from Welsh trainees Drs Gareth Roberts and Katy Beard, talking about PHEMS and the Welsh Clinical Leadership Fellowship respectively. Our trainees have fantastic opportunities these days.

The main purpose of this meeting is to provide a high profile opportunity for Welsh trainees to show us what they’ve been up to.  They did the society proud. With a record number of submissions (61 this year) we selected 18 oral presentations and 20 posters.  Well done if you made it through to the day.  The quality was very high and the judges, from throughout Wales, had a tough time making their selections. My particular favourite was the audit section, with a very broad range of topics it was innovative, full of impact, demonstrated hard work and very difficult to judge.   However decisions were made and the following were successful on the day:

Case Report:  Winner  Vazira Moosajee Runners-up  Kieran Singh Kandola and Anna Roberts
Audit:  Winner William Sutcliffe   Runner-up Jo Organ
Research: Winner Nigel Jenkins Runner-up Danielle Huckle
Poster: Winner Anwen Roberts Runner-up Vincent Hamlyn
A brilliant day and very well attended by all grades from throughout Wales.  Special thanks go to the organisers and judges Drs Sue Catling, Omar Pemberton, Simon Logan, Hywel Jones, Brian Jenkins, Jason Walker,  Ed Curtis, Vinay Ratnalikar and Omar’s excellent secretary Lauren Dyton.  Lots of people worked very hard to make this meeting a success.

At the Autumn meeting in Swansea, the focus will be on trauma, burns and orthopaedics, so of relevance to us all.  Lectures will be mapped to the college matrix.  Sue will hand over the presidential chain of office to Hywel Jones, it will be a nice occasion. Looking forward to seeing you all there.

Professor Judith Hall