Architecture Library

Bute Library, make up or break up?

Posted on 20 May 2015 by Rob S

Enraged by Eduroam? Enamoured with eBooks? Riled by reservations? If you need a quick break from exam revision or have perhaps already come to the end of term, we need your help! We’d like you to write either a love letter to your library service, or a break up letter about the aspects that frustrate
Read more


Easter 2015 – Opening Hours

Posted on 17 March 2015 by Rob S

Our opening hours over the Easter recess period are as follows: Monday 30th March – Thursday 2nd April: 8.45am – 5pm Friday 3rd April – Monday 6th April: Closed 1 & 2 week loans issued from Monday 23rd March will be due for return on Wednesday 22nd April 1 day loans issued from Thurs 2nd
Read more


Help us build our photo gallery!

Posted on 27 February 2015 by Rob S

We’ve created a little photo gallery in our 1st floor lounge area using your photos from Instagram and Twitter and we need you to submit your snaps to our gallery by using the hashtag #butelibrary, or by giving us an @mention on either social media platform. Photos in and around the Bute Library, the Bute
Read more


Bute group study room bookings go online!

Posted on 26 January 2015 by Rob S

Need to book a group study room? The process has now been fully automated, meaning you can book from wherever you have access to the internet on a computer or mobile device. The direct web address you’ll need to use is https://mspluswrb.cf.ac.uk/libraries/, or from the cardiff.ac.uk home page, select the Students & Staff tab, then
Read more


Xmas 2014 – Opening Hours

Posted on 11 December 2014 by Rob S

Our opening hours for the Christmas Recess are: Mon 15th Dec – Fri 19 Dec 8.45am – 5pm Sat 20 Dec & Sun 21 Dec CLOSED Mon 22 Dec – Tue 23 Dec 8.45am – 5pm Wed 24 Dec – Sun 4 Jan CLOSED Semester opening hours resume on Monday 5th January. All 1 &
Read more



Rare architectural material goes digital

Posted on 17 November 2014 by Rob S

As reported in the Special Collections and Archives (SCOLAR) blog, digitised versions of some of Cardiff University’s rare books have been made available through the DigitalSearch web resource. And architecture is well represented, with classic and modern texts, all richly illustrated, available on the Welsh vernacular form, 20th century Welsh architecture and Cardiff’s Civic Centre, drawn from
Read more


Summer 2014 – Opening Hours

Posted on 13 June 2014 by Rob S

Sat 14th June & Sun 15th June OPEN Mon 16th June – Thurs 19th June 8.45am – 8pm Fri 20th June 8.45am – 5pm Sat 21st June & Sun 22nd June CLOSED Mon 23rd June – Fri 19th September 8.45am – 5pm (closed at weekends) Except Thursdays 8.45am – 8pm Mon 25th August (bank holiday)
Read more



DETAIL Inspiration

Posted on 7 March 2014 by Rob S

A new architectural image database from the publishers of the journal Detail is on trial access until 20th March. The database offers visual inspiration for building designs, drawing from more than 2,000 projects from the last 30 years.  It provides photographs, some sketches and technical product information, with a clear and structured search. To access
Read more