Category Archives: Summer Opening

Caerleon, Duthie, and Nursing & Healthcare Studies Libraries – Important News

As part of Cardiff University investment in improved educational facilities on the Heath campus site, a new clinical skills suite will be housed in Ty Dewi Sant in the space currently occupied by the Nursing and Healthcare Studies Library (NHCS Library).  Caerleon and NHCS libraries are scheduled to move to the Cochrane building on a date to be announced and in the meantime will temporarily be relocated to the Sir Herbert Duthie Library, Second floor, B2, UHW.

To enable the collections to be moved, the Caerleon and NHCS libraries will close at 5pm on Friday 12 August.  Their staff and book collections will transfer to the Duthie Library.  Books will be available on the shelves from Monday 22 August and journals on request.

The IT labs on the first floor in Ty Dewi Sant will remain where they are.

The Duthie Library opening hours will be extended as follows:

Sir Herbert Duthie Library opening hours

Monday 18 July – Sunday 14 August

Monday – Friday 9am – 7pm

Saturday 9am – 12.30pm

Sunday – Closed

Monday 15 August – Sunday 28 August

Monday – Friday: 8.30am – 7pm

Saturday: 9am – 12.30pm

Sunday – Closed

Monday 29 August: Closed

Tuesday 30 August – Date to be confirmed

Monday – Friday: 8.30am – 9pm

Saturday: 9am – 5pm

Sunday – Closed

Time table for movement of collections

Friday 12 August, 5pm Caerleon and the NHCS libraries will close.  Duthie Library remains open as normal and extends opening hours to open Monday to Friday at 8.30am.
Monday 15 August – Friday 19 August Caerleon and the NHCS book collections will be moved to the Duthie Library, B2, UHW.  All library staff will move to the Duthie. The contact telephone number will become 029 20742875.  From a university telephone this is 65-2875.

Caerleon and NHCS journal collections will be moved direct to the Cochrane building and will be available via a requesting service in the Duthie Library.

Monday 22 August All book collections will be available for loan in the Duthie Library and the name of the library on the library catalogue will become Health Library.  All books borrowed from the Caerleon and NHCS libraries can be returned here.  Return book bins are remaining at each site, and an additional one is planned for Eastgate House in the autumn.  The contact telephone number will become 029 20742875.  From a university telephone this is 65-2875.
The arrangements for the transfer of the collections to the new Cochrane building and the opening date of the new library will be announced during August when further details of building progress become known.

 

Current Library Summer Opening Times

Summer opening will be slightly different this year- due to the big changes that are about to happen. We will be preparing the book stock for moving and interfiling during these times, please do be patient with us, next year library resources will be available 24/7 and all under one fantastic roof!

Watch here for news of when the collections will be unavailable and when we will be running book fetching services to compensate for stock being out of bounds and how this will work.

Remember that the 24hr IT room and study rooms will be available throughout the Summer, we will let you know here when these are due to be moved too, but we will ensure that its not at the same time as the book stock moving!

NHCS Library
Mon 13th June – Sat 2nd July
Mon – Thurs 8.30 – 6
Fri 8.30 – 5 as usual
Sat 9 – 12.30

Monday 4th July – Saturday 23rd July
Mon – Fri 8.30 – 5
Sat – 9 – 12.30

Monday 25th July – Friday 26th August
Monday – Friday: 8.30am – 5pm
Saturday: Closed

Duthie Library
Mon 27th June – Sat 30th July
Mon-Fri 9am to 7pm, Sat 9-12.30

Mon 1st Aug – Fri 26th Aug
Mon – Fri 9am to 5pm
Sat – Closed